Midnight Sky

Once, I was moistened earth,
nourished by your love,
swept away and spinning softly in your kisses,
as you painted my heart with yours.
.

For a time, I was healing,
sweetened by your constant embrace.
.

Now, your death threatens cold, dry;
there is no quench to this thirst,
your sun no longer warms my skin,
and I am fading in this midnight sky.

.

© 2011 Dana Renee’ Billingsley
.
.

Related Writing: Appeasement (2007)  

.

.

~ by Dana Renee' on August 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
