Etched

Our hearts whispered inaudible words,
reaching the depths of all we were;
so quickly
my heart was yours
and yours was mine.

.

We touched violently upon the hands of our futures
with just one look,
one kiss,
not knowing what it held,
but we couldn’t stop the rush to us.

.

Instinctually, we grasped and vowed
to never let go.
Sometimes I wonder if our souls knew
more than we –
it all happened so fast.

.

Now, I am here without you,
so fully aware that you,
are a part of me,
etched into my skin,
quaking in the vessels of my heart,
a rainless thunder in the depths of my soul,
aching in every ounce
of me.

.

© 2012 Dana Renee’ Billingsley

~ by Dana Renee' on January 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
